hey guys!

Posted: September 24, 2010 in my creations, news & previews
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

so, i’m in fashion school now. this week a teacher asked if any of us were bloggers. i tentatively raised my hand. & decided that i really should resurrect this thing. as much time as i don’t have. i’m not sure yet if i’ll continue with my old regular segments or do more spontaneous posts. i kind of love the idea of spontaneous posts. what do you think? speaking of, thank you so much for still checking my blog! my stats page was nowhere near as sad as i expected it to be.

here are some things i’ve sewn lately:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

my jeans from last year got unbearably baggy. & i really wanted some kind of sleeveless jean jacket/vest. so i reconstructed it. i LOVE how it turned out. it was nice & easy to make too. i used a pre-made burda pattern for this one. it was one of those super rare occasions. the only other things i’ve ever used pre-made patterns for are an over-bust corset, a pair of pants, a button-up shirt, a hoop skirt & one other vest like this.

this is what it looked like before:

Photobucket

Photobucket

it had been very comfortable, for a while.

Photobucket

Photobucket

another reconstruction. reconstructed from a wednesday 13 t-shirt attempted reconstruction to a faux motorcycle jacket. that poor ruined shirt had been sitting on my to-fix pile for, what? nearly two years? then i saw the murderdolls two weeks ago (in germany! it was ah-maaah-ziiiiiing) & in that murderdolls/wednesday’s-bands-in-general mood i thought the time was ripe to save it.
this hoodie was very much inspired by angrygirl gear. i love her work. i made this a little roomier than usual (& with nice warm fleece), because i wanted just one comfortable non-fitted hoodie.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

& that’s almost all i’ve sewn since that last dress. it’s ridiculous. otherwise i’ve only resized a few things & made a totally plain pink racerback top. hopefully i’ll get to do more this weekend.

thanks, as always, for looking!

p.s. for those of you who may have noticed & were wondering about my now empty shops, yes, they’ll absolutely be restocked. soonish. & customs are back open! (help a poor student out here)

Comments
  1. erin says:

    That vest is aces! I can’t believe you made it from a pair of jeans. Marvelous! Also, I’m so glad you’ve returned to blogging. I loved seeing your outfits and collages of things to buy on etsy.

    • maraleopard says:

      thank you (: & i’m glad you’re glad! my posts will probably be a little irregular & messy for a while though. i chose a pretty hectic time to start again :p

  2. Raven says:

    You are very talented, and you remind me of my mid teens and early 20’s. I was heavily into the punk scene back then. I still listen to it, just turned into a mom…and now am turning my teenagers into a version of me. LOL

    Keep it up, great work!

    • maraleopard says:

      aww, thank you ^-^
      i’m not really into any scene myself though; i dislike most of the current ones. but that sounds pretty awesome :p

Leave a Reply

