on dressing up.

Posted: April 7, 2010 in style
Tags: ,
pink&turquoise

you know what makes me really sad? when people say that they LOVE my creations, but would never wear such clothing themselves out of shyness or whatever.
& it’s not (just) that they’re not buying my clothes & leaving me poor, it’s that they’re too scared to wear certain things, however much they LOVE them, just because they’ll attract attention. believe me, i get it, but fear is no excuse.

i’m MUCH shyer than most of you undoubtedly think i am & it was so much worse when i was younger, but it doesn’t stop me from regularly dressing up the way that makes me happy. even though the kinds of things i LOVE tend to be the kinds of things that make me the center of attention. wearing things i LOVE just make me feel so much better. to hell with the people who don’t like it.

black&white

why don’t you try it? really making an effort to look your best & wearing flamboyant things that inspire you on a daily basis can enhance your life in so many ways.  you will look & feel a million times better, when you’re used to it, & yes, people will notice, but that’s not always a bad thing.
i can’t really explain it any better, but dressing up, for no reason other than for the sake of it, is the easiest way to infuse your day with more magic. throw on a tutu, an elaborate hat, neon tights or anything else dressier than the occasion calls for & you’ll see what i mean.

or maybe you just don’t care about fashion & the way you look as much as i do. & that’s okay.  but even then, don’t just throw on some jeans, that stained t-shirt from yesterday & your beat-up chucks! make an effort, however small. every day. why? because the things you wear send a message about who you are. & as much as we like to pretend we don’t, we all judge people based on their looks. what do your outfits convey? that you’re a slave to the ordinary? a dreamer? someone who doesn’t take crap from anyone? a lazy slob? really think about it. & then ask yourself if you like what they convey.

people will stare, make it worth their while.
–harry winston

Comments
  1. Rachael says:

    Those outfits are fantastic, and I would wear them in a heartbeat!

    • maraleopard says:

      thanks! i spent a ridiculously long amount of time on them :p & still wasn’t completely satisfied…

  2. Erin says:

    I’m getting better at dressing how I WANT to dress rather than just by traditional norms. My problem is that all the clothes I really like I have to buy online and are kind of expensive. So I’m doing things one piece at a time.

    Also, I’ve decided that this year is the year for skirts. I love them and yet for some reason, never wear them. That will change.

    • maraleopard says:

      that’s great! (:
      ah, i also have that annoying problem. i buy handmade/vintage & shun mass-produced crap as much as i can. handmade is always more expensive & harder to get. unless you make it yourself :p

      & last year was my year for skirts! i also never wore them much before then, even though i loved them.

Leave a Reply

