why buying handmade is better than buying mass-produced

Posted: January 4, 2010 in diy propaganda
Tags: , ,

spent all your money yet? if you haven’t & are on the lookout for good sales at your favourite stores, with their impersonal mass-produced products, why not consider buying handmade instead?

Photobucket

diy products are usually made in very limited amounts &, in their handmade nature, as unique as you!
& to add to that uniqueness, indie designers design according to their own vision & don’t follow the herd
yes, they’re generally more expensive than mass-produced crap, but that’s because a lot of individual attention was paid to each of the products & thus the quality of them is better, especially if the designer is more experienced
wouldn’t you rather have something handmade with love than something made purely to cut a profit?
diy designers really appreciate their customers & often shower you with love, freebies & special sales if you’ve bought something from them
diy designers also go all the way to make sure you’re 100% satisfied with your purchase, with payment options, custom possibilities, return & money-back options etc.
buying handmade is way better for the environment, as mass-production poisons our air, water & soil & is also a major contributor to global warming, while smaller businesses do not
& there are also the obvious advantages of buying through the internet, as most indie designers sell through that medium

Photobucket

Photobucket

shameless self-promotion: especially for you lovely readers, get 25% off on everything in my shop & custom orders ALL THROUGH JANUARY. when ordering on etsy, contact me through there (you will have to join etsy first if you haven’t already, but that only takes about five seconds) before buying, mention that you read my blog & i’ll adjust the price & reserve it for you.

but by all means don’t stop at my store! there are a lot of other amazing designers out there. i put all my favourites on my links page & i of course feature products from lots of different designers on (most) fridays.
however, i know people like to have things as easy as possible, so i compiled a little summary of ALL of my favourites here, in no particular order:

Photobucket

clothing & accessories
devani weaver + alter-eco clothing + i’m your present + twinkie chan + steampunk couture + venomiss designs + black widow clothing + cutie dynamite + meow kiki clothing + vintage opulence (some vintage too) + joodito + freyagushi + crude things + label of hope + hey sailor + wearydrearies + toxic vision + louise black + purrfect pineapples + the vintage doctor + gobbolino + mtcoffinz underground + idea2lifestyle + supayana +osi’s vinyl dolls + mtcoffinz + vivifromage + shrinkle (some vintage too) + angrygirl gear + smarmyclothes + akasha couture + topsy turvy design + rock candy corsets + psyco hatress + vecona + gibbous

Photobucket

jewelry
cupcakes and mace + isette + untamed menagerie + bella lilli + ampersand designs + edmdesigns + devil and mouse + black kitten accessories + cicely margo + callowlily art (some accessories too) + headless tess diy + abysmal accessories + heart sized crush + the tiny tiara + michelle’s charm world + biting gnome baubles + sugar mafia + rock love

misc
fabulously fierce housewares + artisan graham journals + villainess (perfume oil, soaps etc.) + kjersten anna hayes paper artist + lime crime makeup

now, those links were A LOT of work to compile, so MAKE USE of them :]
& i know that list is mostly clothing, accessory & jewelry centered, but so am i. if you want to see more, diverse products, you can always browse through etsy, dawanda or shana logic. happy hunting!

if you enjoyed this article, please share it :]

Comments
  1. What an awesome article!

    Buying DiY makes all the sense in the world. And there are plenty of amazing artists in this article to buy from. You can’t go wrong with any of them.

  2. Pili says:

    I agree completely!!

    I’m already an avid buyer of a good number of these sellers, and others… I’ll just have to check them out!!

  3. I love all of these stores!! Great picks and a great article!

  4. maraleopard says:

    thank you all so much! ^-^ i’m glad you like it.

  5. Dusty aka InvyStudios says:

    Great article. I love your bullet (heart) point reasons to buy. Your picks are awesome too.

  6. What a great article! I’m going to have to check out all of these wonderful sellers that I don’t recognize. The one’s I do recognize, I happen to love! Great job!

  7. Alexis says:

    Hear! Hear!
    Thank you for including my shop in your article and thank you even more for spreading the word about buying handmade!!

  8. I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Crash says:

    Thank you so much for this post! This year I want to buy from all of my favorite diy bloggin laaaaydies, & this will help so much! Muah xo!

  10. maraleopard says:

    yay, more comments! i love comments (: thank you! i’m really glad you enjoyed the article.

  11. Wow! I’ve heard of most of these lovely designers and the awesome work they do, but you’ve definitely given me a few more to ‘stalk’ 😉

  12. Sarah says:

    WOW! I am blushing…thank you so much for including me on your list! *hugs & sloppy kisses!*

  13. andreanna says:

    Some great picks. I love buying handmade.

  14. kisszombies says:

    All very good reasons!

  15. What a great article! Thanks for including my shop!

  16. Cicely says:

    Omg!!! Thank you so very much for including my shop on your list of so many extremely talented folks that I adore as well. Absolutely honored!

  17. Raven says:

    I cannot thank you enough for blogging about buying DIY/handmade!! It is so important to support the creative people out there =)

  18. maraleopard says:

    thank you : D
    & to everyone i featured: it was my pleasure.

  19. Amazing article! Sharing it with everyone I know!

  20. Katie says:

    I agree! I like to support locally too when I can x

  21. Joanne Faith says:

    I love ogling DIY, and I love the thought of owning something that is not mass produced and a little more personal. I would definitely like to buy more unique stuff in the year to come; thank you for the link list compilation!

    • maraleopard says:

      you should! you’ll love them more than anything else (: i’m a diy-junkie myself. & you’re welcome! i’m glad you appreciate it.

  22. Maggie says:

    Ty so much for the article a couple of the sellers I already buy from and love the ones I haven’t seen before…I def picked up a few new fav items for my closet living in Miami many ppl wear mass production outfits and I love to be diffrent as I’m always asked where I shop hehe handmade all the way…Ty and great blog def will spread the word 🙂

  23. […] Why buying handmade is better than buying mass-produced got me interested in buying more DIY in the new year. A sweet link list of DIY designers is included! […]

  24. ladyimpulse says:

    OOOO I am going to really enjoy looking at these different designers, some of them have the exact style I’m looking to end up wearing on a daily basis, great post!

  25. […] I was just on Maraluce’s blog and she has a post about buying handmade instead of mass-produced items and it really struck me how much I love […]

  26. […] why buying handmade is better than buying mass-produced […]

  27. […] I was just on Maraluce’s blog and she has a post about buying handmade instead of mass-produced items and it really struck me how much I love […]

Leave a Reply

